Call Us on 852 3917 2769         Email on


Center for the Study of Globalization and Cultures (CSGC)


The Center for the Study of Globalization and Cultures (CSGC), set up in 1999 under the joint directorship of Prof. Ackbar Abbas and Prof. Benjamin Lee, is an interdisciplinary center based in the Department of Comparative Literature. It is now under the directorship of Prof. Gina Marchetti. Its activities are structured around a series of lectures, workshops and seminars with distinguished international scholars on short- or medium term visits working in collaboration with our own faculty members. The focus of its work is on issues of culture and globalization with special reference to Asia, China and Hong Kong. Major research themes include: the cultures of capitalism; global flows of culture, media and technology; cities and globalization; new communities, publics, and identities; and postcolonialism and neo-liberalism.


The aims of the Center are:

  • to provide a site where inter-faculty, inter-departmental, and inter-institutional collaborations can take place
  • to stimulate research and publications by faculty members and graduate students
  • to facilitate student and staff exchanges with major universities abroad and to secure a strong international network with other research institutes
  • to make the interdisciplinary study of culture and globalization into an "area of excellence"
  • to promote teaching and learning in the study of globalization and cultures.

Executive Committee

The Center is headed by a Director. All regular faculty members of the Department of Comparative Literature serve as the Executive Committee of the Center.

Advisory Board

The Center has invited well-known scholars, local and overseas, to be members of the advisory board. They include:
Ackbar Abbas (University of California, Irvine)
Tim Bergfelder (University of Southampton)
KCL (Goldsmiths, University of London)
Timothy Brennan (University of Minnesota)
John Caldwell (University of California, Los Angeles)
Michael Dutton (Goldsmiths, University of London)
Benjamin Lee (New School, New York)
Leo Ou-fan Lee (The Chinese University of Hong Kong)
Liao Pinghui (National Tsinghua University)
Meaghan Morris (Lingnan University)
Jan Van Pieterese (University of California at Santa Barbara)
Michael Renov (University of Southern California)
Andrew Ross (New York University)
Imre Szeman (McMaster University, Canada and International Alternative Culture Centre, Budapest)
Wang Hui (Tsinghua University, Beijing)
Kin-yuen Wong (Shu Yan University)
Sharon Zukin (Brooklyn College and the City University Graduate Center, New York)